Skip to content

Galleries and #artread

July 6, 2016
Image credit: Hartford Connecticut ~ Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art ~ Gallery (Onasill ~ Bill Badzo CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Image credit: Hartford Connecticut ~ Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art ~ Gallery (Onasill ~ Bill Badzo CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

This month’s theme is #artread.  I have always enjoyed visiting art galleries and can stand absorbed in front of a favourite painting for ages.  The Lady of Shalott by Pre-Raphaelite artist John William Waterhouse which is exhibited at Tate Britain in London is one of my favourites – I have a poster of it hanging on my wall at home.  I like the vibrant colours which stand out in stark contrast in the gloaming.

I also like the landscapes and night-scenes of cities depicted by Atkinson Grimshaw.  They are so vivid you feel you could step into the canvas and be in the scene which is portrayed.  I saw many of his paintings at the Painter of Moonlight exhibition at the Guildhall Art Gallery in London.  A favourite of mine is Silver Moonlight, the play of moonlight through the trees is magical.

Monet’s Water-Lily Pond is another favourite of mine and was included in Monet: The Water Garden at Giverny exhibition at the National Gallery in London.  I have also visited his garden at Giverny and seen the famous pond that Monet depicted in many paintings.  I could imagine him stood at his easel painting in the sunshine.

I also like the art nouveau work of Czech artist Alphonse Mucha and enjoyed seeing his advertisements, postcards, illustrations, paintings and designs at the Mucha Museum in Prague.  I particularly like the advertising poster he designed for Monaco – Monte Carlo, P.L.M. railway services and have a print of it in my kitchen.

I also like modern art and enjoyed seeing Joan Miró: The Ladder of Escape exhibition at the Tate Modern.  On a visit to Barcelona I went to The Fundació Joan Miró which contains many of his sculptures drawings and works of art.

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York is one of the largest in the world.  I spent several hours wandering through the different galleries looking at sculpture, photography, prints, drawings, paintings, architecture and design.

Join us @ReadWatchPlay on Tuesday 26 July when we will be discussing #artread.  Use the tags #artread and #rwpchat so everyone can join in the conversation.

Monique, Surrey Libraries

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

