Skip to content

Reading different genres for #diverseread

February 2, 2017
istock_000081274829_medium

Diverse people reading (Photo credit Istock 501338658 4×6)

This month’s theme is #diverseread.  I enjoy reading books about different cultures and diverse topics and ideas.  I have recently finished reading The Shaman in Stilettos by Anna Hunt which is about her experiences in Peru training to be a shaman and is a subject I knew nothing about.

I enjoyed the dystopian Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, and the subsequent films, as they were completely different to what I had read before.  I also read children’s books and particularly like the White Giraffe series by Lauren St John as they are well written exciting stories.

I like reading books that have been translated from another language and then watching the sub-titled foreign language series as they give you an insight into different people and cultures.  One of my favourites are the thrillers by Swedish author Camilla Läckberg.  I also enjoy seeing the characters come to life on the screen in the accompanying television series.

Before I visit a country I like to read literature which is set there.  Before travelling to Japan I read some of Haruki Murakami’s novels, my favourite being Kafka on the Shore.  Likewise preceding a trip to Alaska I read A cold day for murder, the first book in the Kate Shugak series, by Dana Stabenow who is an Alaskan crime writer.

At the moment I am reading the fourth book in the Mortal Instruments series – City of fallen angels by Cassandra Clare which is about the fantasy world of Downworlders, demons, Shadowhunters, vampires and werewolves.

You could say I have fairly diverse tastes in books and will not be put off trying something different, even if it is a genre I have never read before.

Monique (Surrey Libraries)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

